You’ve Been Warned!

There’s a story from the Muslim tradition about a Dervish and his student. They were walking down a dirt road, when they saw a carriage speeding towards them.

The road they were on was narrow, so they had to jump into a ditch in order to avoid being run over. The student jumped out of the ditch running after the carriage waving his fist. His teacher ran by him yelling at the carriage, “May all of your deepest desires be fulfilled!”

Stunned by his teacher’s words, the student stopped running and said, “They almost killed us, and you’re blessing them? Why would you do that?”

“Son,” the Dervish said with a smile, “if their deepest desires were fulfilled, do you think that they could treat us, or anyone else, the way they did?”

When we’re hurt in life or love, our first impulse is close off our hearts. When we do that, we close ourselves off to our deepest desires as well.

Just for today, let go of your hurt, open your heart, look inside, and ask yourself, “What is my deepest desire? The one thing I’m afraid to admit to wanting, especially to myself.”

It’s there. Make sure that an image of whatever that is finds it way on your board.

Then, if you really feel you want to, close your heart back up again. But I’ve got to tell you, it’ll be a lot harder to do this time. The cat will be out of the bag, and may not allow you to put it back in.

Yeah, I know it’s scary, but believe me, it’s worth it. It will definitely change your life – for the better.

You’ve been warned!

3 thoughts on “You’ve Been Warned!

  1. I know what I want… I’ve known it for a long time… like ten years. When I first started making cards my dad was so thrilled with what I was doing. I told him that I thought “Happy Man Greetings” would be a good name for my business if I ever got one started and I would have a stamp made with a windmill or a wooden shoe with the “Happy Man Greetings” put on it somewhere. My dad was very excited about the idea because “Blystra” is a Dutch name and it means “Happy Man”. I’ve been calling it “Cards by Melanie”…but I think I should call it “Happy Man Greetings” and under it Cards by Melanie Blystra. I’ll have to draw it out and see how it looks. What do you think?

  2. I think it’s an awesome name for your business! My first thought was to tell you I like the “windmill,” but I’m thinking that unless it’s small, it might be by with the card name, and “Cards By Melanie Blystra.” But you’re an artist, and windmill or shoe, I know you can make it work.

    But do you want to know what I really love? It sounds like you’re moving forward with your passion! I’m really happy for you!

    Thank you for sharing!

    Blessings,
    Anthony

  3. Thank you, I like the windmill too…and I will figure it out!

    I am going to show my brother your blog the next time he comes over… he has put his art on the back burner. He loves to draw and paint…since he’s been married, every time he tries to do something his wife interrupts him and won’t let him do his thing. He is trying to teach her how to draw, but I’m not sure how that’s going. I think he would do well if he got some of his artwork out there too.

Leave a Reply

