Hooked On a Feeling, or Why Does It Feel so Good to Feel so Bad?

What do you and I have in common with the alcoholic on the curb, chain smoker, or heroin addict? It turns out it could be a lot more that we think!

Every single one of the cells in our bodies have opiate receptors which are meant to be docking stations for endorphins, produced by our hypothalamus. What scientists have discovered is that emotions of all kinds produce peptides, which also dock on in the receptors in the cell. When we experience the same emotion again and again, our bodies opiate receptors begin to expect that emotion’s particular peptide. In other words, your body becomes addicted to that particular emotion, even if it’s a form of fear.

That explains why we keep on manifesting experiences and situations in our lives we say we don’t want! This is also why manifesting what we do want is so difficult!

Another way of looking at it is that our emotions become our story, and we believe our story because it happens to us over and over again. The reason we’re in a rut is because we’re addicted to the emotions of our story. And as Ellen Glasgow once said, “The only difference between a rut and a grave is their dimensions.” Given that, it’s no wonder so many people walk around looking like the living dead.

You want to hear another “secret?” It’s only a story. It’s only as real as you want it to be.

Do you want your everyday reality to be different? Change the story!

Today, make a list of  your addictions, like stress, worry, insecurity, insisting on being right, being self-righteous, control, anger, bossiness, fear, inflexibility, etc. Tomorrow, I’ll talk about what to do about them.

6 thoughts on “Hooked On a Feeling, or Why Does It Feel so Good to Feel so Bad?

  1. Such a good reminder to re-assess feelings and the ability to make a new choice. Not an easy thing but not impossible with practice

  2. Very true. I feel like I’m in a rut but I think it’s because I feel like I’m always choosing between kids, husband, family, etc. I will contemplate this though and try to recognize when I’m holding my own self back. Maybe I’m just at a point in life where I have to just keep doing what I’m doing and be patient. I don’t like that answer though. I feel like skipping to the next chapter right now! 🙂

    • I love the honesty Andi! I’ve found that when I’m coaching someone, either in person or on the phone, this is one of the hardest things for people to grasp, and it’s because we areaddicted to our emotions. One of the things you can do is go back to the post about fear, and see which one of those “disguises” you feel most of the time. The trick is to become unhooked and “addicted” to one of the feelings disguised as love.

      I’ll be talking about how to do that tomorrow.

      By the way, as far as “choosing between kids, husband family, etc.,” and I hear this one a lot too, I’m going to suggest to you what I suggest to my clients. Whenever you fly in an airplane (which I do a lot) the instructions from the flight attendants are always the same with regards to what to do when if the cabin loses pressure and the masks drop down. You are supposed to put yourmask on FIRST! Then take care of the person next to you if they need it. I’ve never heard them make exceptions like, “Unless, of course, your sitting next to your kids, husband, family, etc.”

      Now, why do you suppose that is?

Leave a Reply

