The Antidote for Victimhood

In yesterday’s post I talked about a man who went to a tailor who made a suit that didn’t fit him. Instead of having suit remade, he trusted the tailor knew what he was talking about and left with an ill fitting suit that he had to contort himself in order to make the suit, and the tailor, look good.

My friend Melanie Blystra, who is a frequent commenter to my posts, wrote the following (I’m reposting here with her permission) –

In other words…it is what’s on the inside what counts not what’s on the outside. We may have all been told that we are sinners but anyone who knows God knows that He loves us unconditionally and it really doesn’t matter what everyone else thinks.

Then she followed it up with another comment: Though I have to admit, it is nice to hear compliments from others …

I asked her if I could respond to her comments in this post, and she told me to go ahead and do so.

Over two thousand years ago, Jesus walked on water, and didn’t drown. Today, thousands of people walk on hot coals every year, and don’t get burned.

I once read of one man who did a fire walk three times, amazed that he didn’t feel the heat. He told his physiology professor about it. His professor told him that either the coals weren’t as hot as he thought they were, or it was the “Leidenfrost” effect. Just before his fourth fire walk, he wondered if his professor was right, and suffered third degree burns.

Both of these stories are about being victims. Once we accept being a victim we relinquish our power to create reality.

Reality was that the suit didn’t fit “Steve.” Reality for the fire walker was that he could cross the coals unharmed. When we give up our power to others, even to God, we ended up hurting ourselves.

There’s only one antidote for the pain – Accept responsibility for your life.

Unless, of course, other people in your life disapprove. (Just kidding!)

2 thoughts on “The Antidote for Victimhood

  1. Dude, this is freakin prophetic. I’m going through this right now at work. I have a new manager and a new director who refuse to acknowledge that my 20+ years of hospital and 13+ years of Buying experience count for anything. They want to make the same business mistakes I made years ago as a neophyte Purchaser by ignoring my opinions and advice and therefore forcing me to “wear the suit” of their ignorance by refusing to acknowledge that I am more experienced at my job then they are. Simple solution, though, even if it is scary: TIME TO GO!!
    BTW: When did this country start believing that achieving a college degree–ANY college degree–automatically meant the person holding that degree knew more about EVERYTHING than some one who doesn’t have one? When did 4 years of study combined with partying as 20-somethings translate into a lifetime of superiority over everyone who had to earn their experience the hard way (not necessarily better, just harder)?

Leave a Reply

