Changing Your Mind, Changes Your Brain, Which Changes Your Life.

When I was younger I was taught that matter is solid, atoms were the smallest particles, and that once you reach a certain age, your brain is set for life, and doesn’t change. Turns out that all of those “scientific truths” are wrong.

There have been a lot of discoveries in the last decade, or so, regarding the brain. One of them is something called, “neuroplasticity.”

I won’t go into a whole lot of detail that I find fascinating but may have your eyes glazing over as you read it. Speaking of which, as you’re reading these very sentences, all sorts of changes are going on in your brain, and not only your brain, but every cell in your body as well. Why? Because you’re reading this blog.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Every bit of input from your environment causes chemical changes in your brain, and your body. Not only that, your brain is rewiring itself with all of the input you experience, consciously, or unconsciously. Typically, these new neuro pathways don’t last more than a few seconds, and then they disappear.

So what does any of this have to do with anything you’ve been working on? There’s a saying in brain research that “what fires together, wires together.” In other words, if you have a thought, coupled with an emotion, the wiring your brain creates is stronger. If you keep firing the same thought and emotion in your brain, eventually, the wiring becomes permanent.

If you’ve been feeling depressed about the economy, and reinforcing your depression by watching the news, reading newspapers and afraid for your job …, you get the idea?

So, as your thinking about what you’re grateful for, and feeling grateful at the same time, over and over, and over again, your brain becomes wired to access the good feeling quickly, easily, and habitually. And that becomes your new everyday reality.

How long does it take for this to happen? 21 days.

Not a long time to change your life for the better, don’t you think?

4 thoughts on “Changing Your Mind, Changes Your Brain, Which Changes Your Life.

  1. Neuroplasticity and Positive Ecpectancy and my two favorite new concepts. I’m asking my questions and feeling things really shift. It is as if a long standing log jam is loosening up in my brain/consciousness and things are moving around and moving out and new things are coming into my little stream. Flow is better than stasis any old day. Some of that old stuff really stinks! Not to mention that spring is right around the corner! I have daffodils on my desk that are trying to open.

  2. so, my business is expanding into 2 more locations. i think i will be so busy i need to hire an assistant and i’ve also got a marketing person on board to help me grow my business beyond. . . hope you and your family are well. need to meet up when your back and landed!

  3. Abby, I’m really excited for you! Congratulations!

    I’ll be back this Sunday, March 20th, and back at it on the 21st. Call me, and we’ll talk about setting up an appointment then.

    Blessings.

Leave a Reply

